m2 / medical school

a language within a language

They say that going to medical school is the equivalent of learning a new language. I agree. You do have to use a whole new language to discuss the human body and everything that can go wrong with it. (In fact, there was a problem with my boyfriend’s tire the other day and we reverted to anatomical terms for him to describe to me where exactly the problem was. We’re weird. I know.) But I have to hand it to hematology. They take it to a whole new level.

As the boyfriend is doing a fellowship in hematopathology next year and I am currently studying hematology, I’m using his books to supplement my lectures. However, I was floored when the section after “Myelodysplastic Syndromes” came “Myelodysplastic/Myeloproliferative Diseases.” I thought there was a mistake in my notes. Nope…

elephant

3 thoughts on “a language within a language

  1. hahaha! My family constantly laughs at my husband and I with our “medical language.” WE describe everything in anatomical terms… “can you scratch my back? No not there… medial… a little more… just lateral to the spinous processes… ahh yes… there!!!”

thoughts?

